The overall women’s trap medalists. L to R Kaleigh Castillo, silver; Sydney Krieger, gold; Abbey Wigh, bronze.
The overall women’s trap medalists. L to R Kaleigh Castillo, silver; Sydney Krieger, gold; Abbey Wigh, bronze.

By Brittany Nelson, USAS Public Relations & Communications Manager

COLO SPRGS, CO (Aug 1, 2022) – Over 100 junior shotgun athletes competed in the 2022 Junior Olympic National Championships at the John A. Halter Shooting Sports Center in Hillsdale, Michigan, July 25-31.

In the first half of the competition, the Junior Olympic Trap National Champions were crowned. Sydney Krieger, from Arizona, and Sam Blevins, of Kentucky, took home gold for overall women and men respectively.

After a shoot off, Kaleigh Castillo, from California, took home silver in overall women’s trap and Abbey Wigh, from Florida, took home bronze.

In the overall men’s trap category, Lance Thompson, of Pennsylvania, took home silver and Matthew Kutz, from Texas, earned bronze.

Kaleigh Castillo, Abbey Wigh, Sam Blevins and Tony Meola earned JO Squad positions on the Trap Team as the highest finishers not already on the Junior National Team.  Haidyn Stewart, Jacenta Jacob, Josh Corbin and Samuel Woodall earned JO Skeet Squad positions.

In skeet, Lia Nelson earned the title of National Junior Olympian, taking home gold for the overall women’s category. Benjamin Keller also took home this title in the overall men’s category.

The other medalists for overall women’s skeet are Madeline Corbin, from Wisconsin, who took home silver, and, Fayth Layne, from Tennessee who earned bronze.

For men’s overall skeet, Joshua Corbin earned silver, and Samuel Woodall took home bronze.

In the foreign visitors category, Ricardo Rodriguez, of Peru, earned gold, and Gunindera Singh, of Canada, won silver.

Medals were also awarded to the top three male and female finishers in under 15, under 18 and collegiate categories.

Medalist results are as follows:


Women’s U18

Gold- Carey Garrison (TN) 109

Silver- Micaela Velasquez (TX) 103

Bronze- Kamea Herrera (WA) 102

Men’s U18

Gold- Tony Meola (FL) 117

Silver- Eyan Marx (WI) 112

Bronze- Kaleb Horinek (UT) 111

Women’s U15

Gold- Gracie Shoaf (NC) 84

Silver- Esther Cui (AZ) 55

Bronze- Anne Tichotsky AK) 37

Men’s U15

Gold- Ajay Jarrett (CA) 107

Silver- David Hall (UT) 100

Bronze- Bryan Holtkamp (FL) 93

Collegiate Women

Gold- Aiko Bianca Coloso (FL) St. Petersburg College 108

Silver- Chantry Stermer (NM) Jacksonville University 106

Bronze- Marian Zerby (FL) University of Alabama Alabama 106

Collegiate Men

Gold- Emmanuel Butdorf (OH) Jacksonville University 116

Silver- Jack Nelson (ID) Concordia 111

Bronze: Camron Burks (AL) University of Tennessee Southern 109



Women’s U18

Gold- Haidyn Stewart (GA) 111

Silver- Mikena Grace Fulton (AZ) 104

Bronze- Karsyn Ross (TX) 102

Men’s U18

Gold- Aidin Burns (TX) 116

Silver- Jarrod Croley (KY) 111

Bronze- Westley Kiter (NC) 111

Collegiate Women

Gold- Jacenta Jacob (MI) Macomb CC 109

Silver- Emersyn Berck (KS) Kansas State 108

Bronze- Jessi Griffin (GA) Chattahoochee Tech 108

Collegiate Men

Gold- Alex Ahlin (SC) University of South Carolina 116

Silver- Matthew Brindley (IA) William Penn University 114

Bronze- Kyle Fleck (MI) Hillsdale College 113

Find all official results here.

View photos of the event here.